Selected Resources


“Come with me!” ordered the supervisor.

James, unsure of what he had done, stood and followed obediently.

Unspeaking, the supervisor led James through a maze of gradually darkening corridors, eventually stopping at a set of double doors.

‘Human Resources’ advised the brass plaque.

The supervisor rapped on the door, and a muffled “Enter!” was heard from within.

The door opened, and James was ushered in.

The supervisor closed the door again just after James entered, and slowly walked away from the room, feeling very pleased with himself. He was always very well rewarded when he delivered the meals on time.

It just goes to show that we can never be certain that what we think we’re doing, is what we’re actually doing. Most times we are… but every time?

This time I know what I’ve done.

I’ve written another post for Red’s Flash in the Pan; that’s what. Another hundred  worder for a hundred word challenge; the word this time being… yes; ‘Come’! And yes, I’ve written a hundred words as well.

Red’s challenge is open to anyone who’d like to participate. Have a go if you want to. Visit Red’s site for more details.

24 responses to “Selected Resources”

  1. Let's CUT the Crap! avatar

    Naughty, naughty but delicious. Lunch? I would never have guessed. You are besting yourself, Tom. Awesome.

    Like

    1. Tom Merriman avatar

      Thanks, Tess… just playing with words!

      Like

      1. Let's CUT the Crap! avatar

        A lovely game of it that you do. Keep ’em coming.

        Like

  2. prenin avatar

    Very good and a nice dark twist at the end!!! 🙂

    God Bless!!!

    Prenin.

    Like

    1. Tom Merriman avatar

      Thanks, Prenin. I always go back to the vampires in the end…

      Like

  3. Andra Watkins avatar

    Why does this post make me want to go rifle through the cupboards?

    Like

    1. Tom Merriman avatar

      I have no idea, Andra… but rifle if you must!

      Like

  4. Diane Henders avatar

    Bahaha! Love the twist at the end! Very tasty indeed. 😉

    Like

    1. Tom Merriman avatar

      Thanks Diane.

      Like

  5. Sue Dreamwalker avatar

    Are you sure you didnt write this for Andro?… sounds very sinister to me, but very well “executed” 🙂 😉 😀

    Like

    1. Tom Merriman avatar

      Well executed! 😀
      It is a kind of Andro story, Sue, I agree.
      I like my vampires and monsters from time to time.

      Like

  6. shreejacob avatar

    Ooo….no wonder! I always thought something was up with those in the HR department!!

    Like

    1. Tom Merriman avatar

      Goes to show, Shree, that when you are dragged off to HR, you should at least find out why beforehand!

      Like

      1. shreejacob avatar

        I’m so glad I don’t have to contend with that any more! Hehe

        Like

        1. Tom Merriman avatar

          I do, Shree, but luckily they aren’t quite as bad as this company!

          Like

  7. Red avatar

    You hit this one out of the park! Just twisted enough! Great flash.

    Like

    1. Tom Merriman avatar

      Thanks, Red. The vampire tales always seem to have just that edge!

      Like

  8. europasicewolf avatar

    Oh wolf! Wish I could write like that! Love that twist at the end!

    Like

    1. Tom Merriman avatar

      Icewolf… believe you me, if I can write like that, anyone can!
      I must admit I like the twists myself!

      Like

  9. Gray Dawster avatar
    Gray Dawster

    The twisted one’s are always the best Tom
    and this was a fine read 🙂 I hope that you are
    enjoying a wicked Bank Holiday 🙂

    Andro

    Like

    1. Tom Merriman avatar

      I had a good bank holiday, thanks, Andro… I hope you did too.
      I’m a little behind once again… but there’s nothing new there!
      Glad you enjoyed this flash.

      Like

      1. Gray Dawster avatar
        Gray Dawster

        Don’t worry I am always behind these days, it’s just how it is my great friend, we all have a life away from our computers so no problemo 🙂 🙂

        It is great to see you back of course 🙂

        Andro

        Like

        1. Tom Merriman avatar

          And you, Andro.
          As you can see, I’m back once again!

          Like

Would you like to leave a comment?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.