Showtime!


The gathered crowd cheered as I performed trick after trick for their entertainment.

The hall was full – possibly four hundred people standing, waiting, for the announcement. When the hall manager came out onto the stage and advised that the announcement had been postponed, and quite possibly cancelled, the crowd started to jeer. Too many people in such a confined space to leave things as they were. And with one door at the front of the hall, and one at the back, if it got ugly, there was no escape.

I knew that I needed to calm the room. Detract the attention from the negative feelings that were starting to bubble to the surface. Tempers were starting to fray, and I needed to act. Fast.

But how could I? I’ve never done anything like this in public.

I’m not a performer. I don’t have the confidence to stand up in front of a room with five people in, let alone hundreds. And, in the back of my mind, my nagging inner voice was repeating one word to me over and over: Fail.

I had no choice in the matter. I knew I had to do it, fail or not. Voices were starting to raise.

I jumped. High.

I summersaulted twice before landing again. Those nearby were taken aback. They stood back, and circled me.

I jumped again, this time grabbling hold to the wooden beam that went around the walls in the hall.  I back-flipped off the wall again, and landed perfectly on both feet, in the exact spot where I’d left a couple of seconds earlier.

The people around me started to ooh and ah and clap. The people further back were beginning to quieten down, starting to move in to see what was going on.

I leapt again, this time I flew over the heads of a lot of the crowd, onto the stage. I spun a few times in the air, to make it look as though I was performing acrobatics rather than simply flying.

When the people started to clap louder, I could feel that the negativity start to lift. I continued to jump and fly and summersault, even hi-fiving some of the people as I flew above them. I was enjoying myself as much as the crowd were, and their cheers were telling me how much they were enjoying my little show.

My final trick was the best. I flew around, above everyone’s head, for five minutes. No spins or backflips or anything – just flight. Around the room. The crowd couldn’t believe what I could do. I couldn’t believe that I was doing it!

Ill-feeling dissipated, the crowd started to leave the hall in an orderly fashion, and in really good spirits. I waited for them all to leave before I left.

The hall manager waved as I flew passed him, out of the front door and into the night.

I have odd dreams at times, but good ones. This one really helped me – and the crowd – to feel good! And I can’t complain about that!

32 responses to “Showtime!”

  1. shreejacob avatar

    Now see that was an awesome dream AND I think you visited a different dimension…OR your other dimension self visited this dimension but in a different dimension from this 3 dimensional world we are in!
    You dream posts are really, really fun to read!

    Like

    1. Tom (Aquatom1968) avatar

      It was too real to be a dream, Shree. But too surreal to be real if you know what I mean!
      It was good though! 😀

      Like

  2. Andra Watkins avatar

    I’ve often wished I could fly, Tom, especially when speaking in front of groups. They’re a hard bunch, people. 🙂 Great post.

    Like

    1. Tom (Aquatom1968) avatar

      They are, Andra. I remember from my training days way back when.
      They are mostly good though… unless they start to pack together that is…
      Yes, the ability to fly in some circumstances would be very welcome!

      Like

  3. lameadventures avatar

    At first I thought that you might have been bouncing on a trampoline … I can only recall dreaming about flying once, and it did feel very good. I dream much more about crashing, but wake just before impact. That does not feel so good, but I suppose it’s better than crashing.

    Like

    1. Tom (Aquatom1968) avatar

      I have a similar right-at-the-last-minute dream quite often, LA, where I fall off or from something. I wake as I start to fall. Which actually seems strange as I can fly in my dreams. I think I’ll need to investigate this area a little more… hmmm. But yes, waking is better than crashing any day!

      Like

  4. prenin avatar

    Sounds like a good dream Tom! 🙂

    I have flying dreams occasionally, but nothing like this!!! 🙂

    Keep on dreaming my friend! 😉

    God Bless!

    Prenin.

    Like

    1. Tom (Aquatom1968) avatar

      Prenin, my flying dreams are all so different, but each one is really good!
      I wonder if I’ll dream again tonight?

      Like

  5. Visionkeeper avatar
    Visionkeeper

    Ah….Testing your wings! Fun isn’t it? Sounds like you are using your new found ability for the good which is admirable T….Now take a test fly long distance, like over to the island lets say, for a bit of a look around…Pay attention T….No crash landings….VK

    Like

    1. Tom (Aquatom1968) avatar

      If I ever start to fly in my current ‘real’ world, VK, I’d like to think I’d use my ability for the good here/there as well. I’d be able to make more of a difference anyway!
      And yes, the island – I’ll be there soon!

      Like

  6. Angel Land Canada avatar

    Its nice to dream just your angel flying by for a visit have a wonderful day angel hugs

    Like

    1. Tom (Aquatom1968) avatar

      Thanks, Tricia!
      These flying dreams are the best kind of dream I have!
      Hope you’re having a good Tuesday / Wednesday!

      Like

  7. mairedubhtx avatar

    It’s nice to dream you can fly even in a somersault onto the stage!

    Like

    1. Tom (Aquatom1968) avatar

      I’ve never somersaulted in a dream before, so that was a new experience, but the flying is a great experience!

      Like

  8. europasicewolf avatar

    Always good.to spread your wings and fly 🙂

    Like

    1. Tom (Aquatom1968) avatar

      Even without the wings, Icewolf! 😀

      Like

      1. europasicewolf avatar

        “I’m flying without wings…!!” (Westlife) 😀

        Like

        1. Tom (Aquatom1968) avatar

          😀 And then some! 😉

          Like

  9. nrhatch avatar

    Aah . . . nothing like the power of flight to calm jangled nerves. 😀

    Like

    1. Tom (Aquatom1968) avatar

      And clear the mind. When I fly, I can just see and watch – I don’t have any heavy thoughts!

      Like

  10. Diane Henders avatar

    What a fabulous dream! I rarely get to fly in my dreams, but when I do, it’s delightful. Lucky you. 🙂

    Like

    1. Tom (Aquatom1968) avatar

      Thanks, Diane. I really enjoy my flying dreams! I hope you get to experience more!

      Like

  11. Androgoth avatar
    Androgoth

    You sound like
    Peter Pan on this
    one Tom 🙂

    Androgoth

    Like

    1. Tom (Aquatom1968) avatar

      I do a bit, Andro! 😀

      Like

  12. Carrie Rubin avatar

    Perhaps this wasn’t a dream. Perhaps you got a glimpse of what you’ve been up to in a parallel universe. 😉

    Like

    1. Tom (Aquatom1968) avatar

      You may be right, Carrie. It felt a little too real to be a dream…

      Like

  13. Inion N. Mathair avatar

    Hi Tom we are new to your blog by way of mutual blogging friend Carrie Rubin and are happy to have found you. A short-lived adventure from the audience of your mind. Spectacular!

    Like

    1. Tom (Aquatom1968) avatar

      Hello again! I’m glad you liked it! 😀

      Like

  14. Jo Bryant avatar

    I fly all the time…in dreams and out
    😉

    Like

    1. Tom (Aquatom1968) avatar

      It really is the only way, Jo! 😀

      Like

  15. Sue Dreamwalker avatar

    Tom glad your flying again… Flying Dreams always good ones.. as you rise above your problems to float over everything…. Keep flying 🙂

    Like

    1. Tom (Aquatom1968) avatar

      I love my flying dreams, Sue – they are very freeing, and they feel good! 😀

      Like

Would you like to leave a comment?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.