The Writer’s Desk

I write
At night in dull light
And as I kneel I feel
Surreal
At a desk without a chair
With papers, pens and boxes everywhere
Typing, tapping, amid the clutter
Recording any word I utter
Hoping they flow and work well together

I hope
I cope within the scope
Of imaginary faces in distant places
And people I know and don’t in equal measure

With situations so far fetched
Etched on my mind; my imagination stretched
I write
I hope
In my mind well…

I write what I feel as I kneel
With many a tale to tell.

This post has been written in response to a little challenge by Nancy over at Spirit Lights The Way. It’s actually a competition, but I’m merely entering for fun. If you’d like to enter, there are still a few days left. Visit Nancy’s site for more details!

36 thoughts on “The Writer’s Desk

  1. I love this, Tom! Especially:

    At a desk without a chair
    With papers, pens and boxes everywhere
    Typing, tapping, amid the clutter
    Recording any word I utter
    Hoping they flow and work well together

    And the image reeks of the magic we weave when it all comes together.
    Thanks!

    Like this

    • Thanks, Shree. I don’t usually like using the word poetry for what I write, but I will with this one! And our stories can go far beyond our lives once we open ourselves up!

      Like this

  2. Excellent my Good man….Get out the knee pads T if you have to write anything of great length. Very enjoyable indeed. BTW, do thoughts come any easier or harder on your knees? VK

    Like this

    • Thanks, VK. I’d answer your question if I had any clue as to where my thoughts come from! However, I can say I don’t think being down on my knees opens me up any further!

      Like this

    • Thanks, Prenin. My chair is at the desk with the other computer, but my writing one is the one I need to kneel at. Well, I don’t NEED to kneel, but I’m too lazy to go and get the chair!!! :D

      Like this

    • Thanks once again, Sue. It’s actually quite comfortable when I get down in the right way. Get down in the wrong way, and when I get up again, well, that’s fun! Hehe! I do feel like I’m flying then! :D

      Like this

  3. That was cool :) The chair I am sitting in at my computer desk is in danger of collapsing under me! It is a cheap fold up one with a horrible plastic seat which makes you all hot and sweaty when you sit on it too long ;) How’s that for a pretty mental pic? lol :D To make matters worse the badly welded metal base where the legs or all in one leg if you know what I mean goes has split…meaning it could collapse at any time if I move the wrong way on it! Oh joy!!

    Like this

  4. I think the chair is so crucial, Tom! I bought mine in the early 2000′s. It was made in Italy and cost me a chunk of change, but has been worth every penny. It’s a polished wood 1940s-style banker’s chair on casters that swivels and rocks. I love it.

    Like this

  5. ‘At a desk without a chair’ – I love it. I often write while standing, or vary the chair, to go with my mood. I also entered this competition (my first) for fun and really enjoyed doing so and reading all the other entries.

    Like this

  6. Pingback: The Writer’s Desk ~ Let the Voting Begin! « Spirit Lights The Way

Comments are closed.